Bluecap Cottages Extension
Bluecap Cottages are the typical tithe free holding dwellings for rural farmers and workers dating back at least 200 years and shows on the earliest tithe holdings surveys. At the time of this first survey the house was occupied by one William Garft and owned by significant local land owner James Hugh Smith Barry (1748 - 1801).
Carley Daines and Partners Limited
We worked closely with our client on this major renovation and extension of 250-year-old semi-detached cottage to create a spacious open plan kitchen, dining and living room at ground floor and new master bedroom suite at first floor. The extension follows the existing farmhouse style but with modern twists that especially prioritise additional light through large windows and exposed timber structure.
The design combines the existing conservatory with an infill extension and new side extension to create an open plan wrap-around kitchen, lounge and dining space with ancillary W/C and informal work space at ground floor. We extended the first floor while retaining the roof profile of the existing cottage and utilised a vaulted roof space to create a stunning bedroom with a glazed wall looking out over the garden. The entire property will be refurbished to create a spacious family bathroom within one of the existing bedrooms.